Dressember 2016: Welcome To My Day Three

Today got off to a rough start! I kept hitting snooze as usual but something didn’t feel right! My eyes hurt, they were blurry and had that sticky film all over them and burned like they do when I have a fever. Uugh. I love my coworkers,even when they generously share upper respiratory germs!!  Do I really have to wear a dress today?? Make up, really?? But it’s Friday and COLD outside! A late winter has officially arrived here in East Tennessee!!
I got up and showered. Ok, now, could I handle the make up? I looked at my swollen bloodshot eyes and sighed. Yuck!! Now, I don’t like to be in pictures anyway, so I was feeling challenged. A healthy self-esteem is not my greatest attribute, so was I going to be able to go through with this? I didn’t even want to look at myself in the mirror!!

Which is exactly WHY I needed to continue on today. I pushed through my dread and watery eyes and had my face designed in war paint. Now, most of my guy friends have no idea how frustrating it can be trying to put on eye makeup under those conditions, so you’ll just have to trust me when I say I am proud to have won that battle!!

Hair and Dress came easily afterward, but today’s next Dressember challenge came when I had to find and ask another person to be today’s photographer. I do not like to ask for help, anyway, but to me, asking someone to take a picture of me seems egotistical!! Asking Rachel was easy enough, though, because she was the first to ask me on my first Dressember day what I was all dressed for, and she allowed me to tell her for whom I am an advocate!

Dressember Daily Facts:
#Dressember has “aligned with International Justice Mission, a human rights organization that works to rescue victims of slavery, sexual exploitation, and other forms of violent oppression. Those who participate in Dressember are supporting the abolition of modern day slavery.”

Facts from Polaris:
Human trafficking is a form of modern slavery — a multi-billion dollar criminal industry that denies freedom to 20.9 million people around the world. And no matter where you live, chances are it’s happening nearby — even in the United States. From the girl forced into prostitution at a truck stop, to the man discovered in a restaurant kitchen, stripped of his passport and held against his will. All trafficking victims share one essential experience: the loss of freedom.

Wanna help? Here’s how:

Donate here, join our awesome team Sunflowers and Snow, or simply “Like” and “Share” any Dressember posts you see!

*Sunflowers and Snow is made up of some awesome ladies who have my utmost admiration and respect. Thank you all for being you!

**Rachel, thank you for being a strong feminine support in my life everyday, but a special thanks to you for stepping in for Logan to snap a shot!

Leave a Reply

