Dressember 2016: Welcome to My Day Five

“What you see is what you get.”

One day, I’ll be able to say that and genuinely mean it!!

There is nothing on my schedule today. The kids have their time with their father on Sundays, so I try to use that time to replenish and renew my Spirit each week. Today, that won’t happen in my usual ways, but I’ll continue to get some things accomplished at home, and with a grateful heart.

Sometimes I feel like I’m fighting a losing battle, but my precious kids and their messes and their dirty clothes and dishes won’t be around here forever. De-cluttering today, I remember this, and I remember my longing for a more simple life.

Simplicity. How to get there? I’m not sure, but my dress today is definitely reflective of my vision of a life of less. Comfort was what I was going for today when went to my closet and chose that simple 20+ year old dress I bought when I worked retail before Christopher came along. Mine was a simpler life then, not without struggles, of course, but I knew my priorities. Those priorities have become screwn through the years, but I believe it is now time to get back to basics.

So off I am now, to do my chores, knowing that if I don’t know yet how to prioritize for my Highest Good, at least I know that I’m honoring a call to advocate for those who have lost their voices.

Dressember Daily Facts from Polaris:

The International Labor Organization estimates that forced labor and human trafficking is a $150 billion industry worldwide.
The U.S. Department of Labor has identified 139 goods from 75 countries made by forced and child labor. In 2015, an estimated 1 out of 5 endangered runaways reported to the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children were likely child sex trafficking victims. Of those, 74% were in the care of social services or foster care when they ran.

There is no official estimate of the total number of human trafficking victims in the U.S. Polaris estimates that the total number of victims nationally reaches into the hundreds of thousands when estimates of both adults and minors and sex trafficking and labor trafficking are aggregated.

Wanna help? You can! Here’s how:

Donate here, join our awesome team Sunflowers and Snow, or simply “Like” and “Share” any Dressember posts you see!*Sunflowers and Snow is made up of Melissa West, Jenn Ashton, Madeline Hilde, Nicci Rea, Harmony Darling, Aynne Johnston, Laura Moyer, and me. We would love to have you join us!!

**Thank you for taking my picture today, Sweet Child. You’re an awesome son!! I love you andappreciate you more than you understand!  

Leave a Reply

