Dressember 2016: Welcome to My Day Six

Today is an anniversary of great importance. You see, it signifies the beginning of a new era. A new life. A new me.

It was a major struggle to get to the place of courage which enabled me to choose to make one of my life’s toughest decisions. It took me a very long time to understand and start to believe that I deserved a better way of living. The thought of making this change scared me to death, but I knew I couldn’t go on with the way things were.

I was an empty shell and barely holding on.

It was a long road to make my choice final, and still today I suffer the consequences of someone else’s punishment.

That’s ok, though. I hold on to my faith the best I can, and I trust in my healing process and that all my day to day needs will be met.

My experiences happened for a reason. To share. To help others.

My story is NOTHING compared to those belonging to victims of modern-day slavery!! That’s why I’m taking a stand for #Dressember. To help raise awareness of the manipulations and abuses of human traffickers.

Dressember Daily Facts from Polaris:

Statistics from the National Human Trafficking Hotline  and Polaris BeFree Textline:
More than 29,800 total cases of human trafficking have been reported to the Hotline in the last eight years.
The Hotline annually receives multiple reports of human trafficking cases in each of the 50 states and D.C.

Wanna help? You can! Here’s how:

Donate, join our awesome team Sunflowers and Snow, or simply “Like” and “Share” any Dressember posts you see!

*Sunflowers and Snow is made up of Melissa West, Jenn Ashton, Madeline Hilde Sicinski, Nicci Rea, Harmony Darling, Aynne Johnston, Laura Moyer, and me! We would love to have you join us!!

**Logan, welcome back!! Thank you for taking my picture today!!

Leave a Reply

